To contact a Johnson County traffic attorney: call 913-764-5010 or email info@JoCoTraffic.com
A driving while suspended ticket in Olathe, KS may seem like a minor ticket, but it is much more serious than a typical traffic ticket. Every driving while suspended charge carries very serious potential penalties, including jail time (mandatory for every conviction), a fine of hundreds or even thousands of dollars, an additional length of the driver's license suspension, hundreds of dollars in reinstatement fees, an SR-22 insurance requirement, and other potential penalties.
The driving while suspended laws in Olathe, Kansas do not take into account the reason you were suspended, or whether you even knew you were suspended. Kansas law only requires that the Department of Revenue send a letter notifying you of a driver's license suspension to your last known address - they are not required to prove that you actually received the notice. The result is that many folks are driving while suspended and they have no idea. Unfortunately this does not usually provide for a legal defense.
Call our law firm at (913)764-5010 to speak to an Olathe traffic attorney about your driving while suspended ticket. Our office is located at 104 E. Poplar, a few blocks from the Johnson County District Courthouse and a few minutes from Olathe Municipal Court.
Our Olathe law office's driving while suspended lawyers may be able to secure a diversion, amendment, or dismissal for your Olathe driving while suspended/revoked/restricted case. Our traffic attorneys regularly meet with Olathe Municipal Prosecutors to discuss our client's DWS case and secure amendments to non-moving violations which will not negatively affect your driving record or insurance rates. In other cases, our Olathe, Kansas traffic law firm can negotiate a diversion agreement which, if completed successfully, can lead to a dismissal of the Olathe driving while suspended/revoked charge.
The laws in Olathe, KS call for a jail sentence for every driving while suspended conviction in Olathe Municipal Court - even for first time offenders with a clean driving record.
Olathe Municipal Court judges regularly sentence folks who are convicted of driving while suspended, revoked, or restricted, to 90 day jail sentence, 6 month jail sentences, or even one year jail sentences for drivers with prior driving while suspended convictions on their driving record.
Our Olathe law firm's traffic attorneys may be able to help you avoid jail time in an Olathe driving while suspended case. Our lawyers will negotiate with Olathe Municipal Court prosecutors for an advantageous resolution in your case to either avoid a conviction and the associated jail time or to secure a "suspended sentence," which will not require you to serve jail time.
Results are different for each case and primarily depend on the circumstances and your driving record.
Every conviction for driving while suspended/revoked (DWS/DWR) in Olathe Municipal Court will include hundreds, if not thousands of dollars in fines and court costs.
To make matters worse, if you are sentenced to jail time, you will have to pay for each day you are ordered to serve! That is right, they make you pay to go to jail.
If these amounts are not paid, then the judge can order you back to jail or extend any probation periods until the amounts are paid in full. In other cases, the balances will be sent to a collection agency that will hound you forever.
A conviction for driving while suspended in Olathe, Kansas will result in the Kansas Department of Revenue suspending your driver's license for at least an additional 90 days, depending on your driving record.
A Olathe driving while suspended/revoked conviction is also one of the violations which count towards a "habitual violator" designation which will result in a driver's license suspension of an additional three years if you have three violations within a five year period.
In addition to the other penalties described above, drivers convicted of driving while suspended in Olathe will be required to pay a reinstatement fee of either $100 or $300 to the Kansas Department of Revenue, depending upon their driving record. (KSA 40-3118 (f))